Weebly: Create a Website Using the Web?

4 09 2007

Weebly Logo
Developers: David Rusenko, Dan Veltri, and Chris Fanini
Version: Beta
Price: Free
Operating Systems: Linux, Mac OS X, Windows (Firefox or Internet Explorer Required)
Check Out Weebly Here.

Unexpected Joy from a Web App

The coolest thing about writing these reviews is that I stumble across a program that really blows my mind from time to time. These programs are extremely well designed, highly useful, have huge amounts of customization, and are just a joy to use. Weebly is one of those programs. A web app that I didn’t expect to be so amazingly cool and fun to play around with. Not only that, but Weebly is as useful as it is enjoyable to use – the sign of a fantastic piece of software.

weeblyscreenshot.png

Weebly’s fun filled web design experience begins with the creation of a unique username and password. After signing in, all that’s left to do is create a name for your site and begin the actual placement and site design work. And that’s where the fun begins.

weeblyscreenshot1.png

Like other “What You See Is What You Get” web design programs, Weebly is incredibly easy to use. There are a number of built in themes, most of which are very attractive, that can be selected at the press of the mouse button. A professional looking website is literally at your fingertips and can be crafted in just a couple of seconds on Weebly’s site.

weeblyscreenshot2.png

The difference between Weebly and so many of the WYSIWYG web design programs like Sandvox [review], Dreamweaver [review], Rapidweaver, and Nvu [review] is that Weebly is so much easier than any of the competition. I’d even go so far to say that I’ve never used a point and click web design program that was this simple to use. Oh, and it’s completely free too. Paragraphs, pictures, maps, even advertisments, Youtube videos, and personalized HTML can be added by dragging the respective element right into the page. Don’t like it’s location – move it elsewhere. Didn’t want that element after all – just click the “x” to get rid of it. It’s a piece of cake to build an attractive site.

weeblyscreenshot3.png

But once you’ve got a nice looking page all set up, what is there to do? Add a few meta tags, keywords, and all of the other header and footer scripting that a normal site would have and hit the publish button. The site will be whisked away to the internet on Weebly’s own servers.

weeblyscreenshot4.png

What if you want more than that? What if you have your own modifications that you couldn’t do within Weebly’s click and drag interface? What if you want to host the site on your own server at your own domain? Piece of cake. Weebly lets you download a zip file of all of the information from your site. The graphics, HTML, CSS, it’s all there. Tweak it, host it, do whatever to it. Simple as that. Otherwise just type in your domain name and hit the host button and your website will be sent right off to whatever server you use.

weeblyscreenshot5.png

Normally I like to end off with a few drawbacks of a program. The only problem I could come up with is that it’s restricted to Firefox and Internet Explorer and it tends to slow down from time to time on larger projects. If you’ve always wanted a website, but you had no idea how to go about making one – now is the time. Weebly is for you. Even if you have designed websites before, check Weebly out. It may be able to cut your design time in half on your next project. It really is that good, and totally worth a look.

Check out Weebly for Yourself.

– Eric Norton

Did you like this review? Please subscribe to the free Software Battle! feed.

Actions

Information

20 responses

4 09 2007
blored

Wow, I just read this review. Is there any way I can get you to try out our similar Web creation tool that just entered private beta?

Mark from ClutterMe
mark [dot] molckovsky [at] google’s mail

5 09 2007
Eric Norton

I’d be happy to. I’ll send you an email and sign up for the private beta later today when I get some time.

28 12 2008
Emily

You know,
Weebly is one of the best web making websites I have ever seen.
If Weebly isn’t for you, then you can always try freewebs, webnode,
googlepages, googlesites, synthasite, wix, and sometimes even
doodlekit.

19 08 2011
macalinao

hello
how are yoy and your family?
i will like to know you more and Here is my contact, macalinao.vhernier@yahoo.com.ph
tnans

26 01 2009
Brian

Interesting,

I was very excited about weebly initially but discovered a problem the site seems to have is importing graphics into the html page I have tried importing jpeg, gif and swf buttons and they will not load which has been very disappointing.

4 05 2009
Phil Tyler

Great Review, Thanks!

21 08 2009
Tanner

I used Weebly to create my website and everything was great until one day my password and email had been changed to something other than my own. Then after contacting support, I was still unable to regain access to my website .

Just a word of warning…

http://tinyurl.com/np8pzg

26 10 2009
Howard

Yes, Weebly’s easy. I spent a week being tutored to use Frontpage, there was no result, and it put me off for years! Now I have created my own site in an evening. My negative is that all editing is at snail’s pace, probably because of slow upload in this remote UK town of Brixham. I bought the Pro version so I can insert audio, which will be on the published site soon. When I emailed Weebly for help with captioning buttons, they replied immediately.

10 01 2010
Esteban

I’ve been using Weebly for months now, and I don’t think I’d ever have a reason to switch hosts. I’ve tried Webs, googlesites, and other website editors and providers and so far, none have even come close to how adaptable Weebly is. Just remember that using AdSense advertisements on your page results in Weebly splitting the profits with you 50/50. For a site that’s completely free and uses no forced ads other than a footer advertising weebly itself, this is a small price to pay.

Great review, by the way.

8 03 2010
bloodysavage

yeah… i really like weeby!
iits very easy to use…
bu i wish they would add more apps to it…

bloodysavagerealm.weebly.com

22 08 2010
Howard

Ten months on now, my Weebly site still works well and I’m pleased it carries my voice samples without significant loss of sound quality – some voiceover artists using other hosts are putting up with terrible audio! Looking forward to the new graphical controls (photos in the header, for example) becoming operable here in Brixham UK soon. Anyone else still waiting?

14 02 2011
Howard Ellison

Well, as hoped, those fine folks at Weebly did make it easy to add a personal header. I’m well pleased – got the okay to adapt a picture of some fine young ladies in a choir. And editing of text and audio (voiceover examples) etc is much faster these days. No problem even to insert video, so did that too.

29 04 2011
wujianyi1234@hotmail.com

In your life, there will at least one time that you forget yourself for someone, asking for no result, no company, no ownership nor love. Jus task for meeting you in my most beautiful years.

5 10 2011
red tube xxx

red tube xxx…

[…]Weebly: Create a Website Using the Web? « Software Battle![…]…

23 04 2013
Helpful Resources

I do like the manner in which you have presented this
challenge and it really does offer me a lot of fodder for thought.
Nonetheless, from what I have observed, I just simply hope when the actual feed-back stack on that individuals stay on point
and in no way get started upon a soap box of some other news du jour.
Yet, thank you for this superb point and while I
do not really go along with this in totality, I respect your standpoint.

25 04 2013
synonym for business owner

Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was
super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for novice blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

26 04 2013
Lin

My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right.
This put up actually made my day. You can not believe just how a lot time I had
spent for this info! Thanks!

7 08 2013
Знакомства Полтава

My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of
your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.

can you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

13 08 2013
Знакомства Березники

That is a great tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
Simple but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this
one. A must read article!

17 12 2013
Rhonda

Merely created a Twitter account to get some updates on
the move, most definitely going to follow this blog site though as you have some really excellent blog posts

Leave a Reply

